Connect with us

Los Angeles Angels

Texas Rangers: Ian Kinsler beats out Rangers’ Rougned Odor, A’s Jed Lowrie for 2018 Gold Glove Award

Update, Nov. 4 (8:15 p.m.): Texas Rangers second baseman Rougned Odor came close but did not win a Gold Glove.

Former Ranger Ian Kinsler was unveiled on Sunday as the winner of the American League Rawlings Gold Glove for defensive excellence at second base. Odor and Oakland’s Jed Lowrie were finalists for the award.

Defensive metrics showed minimal difference between Kinsler and Odor. According to fangraphs. they tied for the major-league lead in Defensive Runs Saved among second basemen with 10.

For Odor, it was the second consecutive season of defensive improvement while working with coach Tony Beasley. Odor has gone from a minus-13 for DRS in 2016 to this year’s figure.

Beasley’s status on the staff of new manager Chris Woodward is uncertain. Woodward was a utility infielder for 12 major-league seasons and has worked with infielders throughout his coaching career.

Original story, Oct. 25: Texas Rangers second baseman Rougned Odor could realize his goal of winning a Rawlings Gold Glove for defensive excellence.

Odor was unveiled Thursday as a finalist for the award. Oakland’s Jed Lowrie and Ian Kinsler are the other finalists. Kinsler, a former Ranger, spent the season with the Los Angeles Angels and Boston.

Odor, helped by coach Tony Beasley, showed marked improvement in the field this season. According to, Odor ranked third in the majors and first in the American League for defensive runs saved at plus-11. He was a minus-24 for his previous four seasons combined. 

Odor’s plus-11 was the highest rating on the club this season. He is also the only Ranger among the finalists. The Rangers have never had a Gold Glove second baseman.

“I’m extremely proud of Rougie and his commitment to the work he put in,” said Beasley, in limbo about a return as the Rangers focus on hiring a new manager.

Of the Gold Glove, Odor said in August: “That’s always been my goal, that’s what I want.”

The winners will be announced in November, with the date to be determined. The sporting good company Rawlings conducts voting among major league managers and coaches and also factors in the SABR Defensive Index.

Atlanta and Boston led the majors with five finalists each. Cleveland, Milwaukee and Oakland had four finalists. All five clubs reached the playoffs.

The Rangers were among five teams with one nominee each. Nine clubs had no nominees.

This Topic is Missing Your Voice.

Source Link

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More in Los Angeles Angels